Friday, December 10, 2010

Celebrating the Baseball Bloggers Alliance

December 10 is Baseball Bloggers Alliance day, and Subway Squawkers is pleased to be part of this rapidly growing group. The BBA was started in 2009 by Cardinals blogger Daniel Shoptaw and has since grown to around 240 blogs from all around the country. The Mets have the biggest chapter, with 19 blogs (take that, Squawker Lisa!). There are 12 Yankee blogs. (Subway Squawkers is counted in both lists.)

The BBA gives out its own set of postseason awards, and has secured naming rights from several living legends for some of them. The Willie Mays Award goes to the top rookie in each league. The Stan Musial Award goes to the most valuable player in each league. The Goose Gossage Award goes to the top relievers. Other awards are named after Walter Johnson (starting pitcher) and Connie Mack (manager). Each league's awards are voted on by blogs in that league. Lisa cast Subway Squawkers' AL votes while I took care of the NL votes.

Squawker Lisa and I appeared on the BBA's podcast on December 7, which was hosted by Steve Keane of The Eddie Kranepool Society. We had a great time talking with Steve. We also enjoyed our appearance on the BBA podcast of November 10 with Matt Seybold of The Sporting Hippeaux.

If you want to know more about the BBA, check out this interview with founder Shoptaw.

If you are a baseball blogger interested in joining the BBA, send an email to It's free to join, with the main requirements being that you have an active blog and participate in the awards voting. For more membership details, check out the BBA Constitution.

No comments:

Search This Blog