Friday, October 12, 2012

2012 National League Awards

The Baseball Bloggers Alliance will begin announcing its choices next week for baseball's best of 2012. Here are my votes for the National League awards.

Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year) 

Davey Johnson, Nationals: Washington had the best record in baseball and the Nationals won the first full division title in franchise history (the 1981 Expos won the second-half division title in a strike-divided season).

Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year)

Bryce Harper, Nationals: 5.0 WAR led the Nationals. Hit .270 with 22 homers, 98 runs, 18 steals and 59 RBI.

Goose Gossage Award (Top Reliever)

Craig Kimbrel, Braves: Historic season featured 116 strikeouts in 62.2 innings for record 16.7 batters per nine innings.1.01 ERA, 0.65 WHIP, .126 batting average against. 42 saves in 45 chances.

Walter Johnson Award (Cy Young)

R.A. Dickey, Mets: Won 20 games for a 74-88 team. First in strikeouts, second in ERA and wins and third in WHIP, going 20-6, 2.73 ERA, 1.05 WHIP with 230 strikeouts.

Stan Musial Award (MVP) 

Buster Posey, Giants: Led National League in WAR with 7.2. Second in OPS with .957. First catcher to win the batting title in the NL since Boston Braves' Ernie Lombardi in 1942. Hit .336 with 24 homers, 103 RBI and 78 runs. Played for division-winning team.


nutballgazette said...

I agree with all the picks Jon

Anonymous said...

right on Jon!

Search This Blog