Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Remembering the 2000 AL Manager of the Year race

The Managers of the Year were announced earlier today and Squawker Lisa and I just competed in a trivia contest, so here's a trivia question:

Who won the American League Manager of the Year in 2000 and who finished second?

And who did they beat out?

Before I give the answers, Lisa and I had a great time at the trivia contest, which was run by our fellow blogger The Omnipotent Q of the Mighty Quinn Media Machine. The best thing was seeing Lisa trying to keep her cool in a Red Sox bar decorated with various pro-Red Sox and anti-Yankee memorabilia! It was also fun to hear how the three Red Sox players Lisa dislikes the most - Jonathan Papelbon, Kevin Youkilis and Dustin Pedroia - are Q's favorite Bosox.

As for the 2000 AL Manager of the Year race, here are the runners-up:

3. Lou Piniella, Mariners
4. Mike Scioscia, Angels
5. Joe Torre, Yankees

So who beat out this impressive group?

The AL Manager of the Year in 2000 was White Sox skipper Jerry Manuel.

Second place went to A's skipper Art Howe.

In the NL that year, Bobby Valentine finished fourth, behind winner Dusty Baker of the Giants, the Cardinals' Tony LaRussa and the Braves' Bobby Cox.

No comments:

Search This Blog