Monday, October 11, 2010

My NL Manager of the Year picks

Squawker Lisa and I are members of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance. As part of our responsibilities with the group, we will be voting on regular-season award winners. Here's my ballot for the Connie Mack Award for NL Manager of the Year. These awards reflect regular season only.

1.) Dusty Baker, Reds.
Cincinnati went from 78 wins in 2009 to 91 wins, the NL Central title and their first trip to the postseason in fifteen years. (The Reds lost a one-game playoff to the Mets in 1999 for the right to get into the postseason.)

2.) Bud Black, Padres.
Small-market team expected to unload star Adrian Gonzalez instead led the NL West for much of the season and was eliminated on the final day of the season.

3.) Bobby Cox, Braves.
Atlanta led the NL East much of the year and made the playoffs for the first time in five years.

No comments:

Search This Blog